All the news about Oklahoma Bass Fishing on-line


Lifetime license buyers urged to bring proper documents
ODWC

State Wildlife Department officials are expecting a number of outdoor enthusiasts to purchase lifetime licenses prior to July 1 when the cost increases and have some suggestions to make the process easier for license
buyers.

State law specifies that a person applying for a lifetime license must produce either a valid Oklahoma driverís license or other positive proof of identification, age and residency. To purchase a lifetime license for a child without a driverís license, the buyer must prove the person receiving the license is an Oklahoma resident. The following are some suggested documents that can be used to prove residency: current school report card, a birth certificate if the child is under one year old, or a current copy of the parent's state tax return listing the childís social security number.

The Wildlife Departmentís primary funding source is the sale of annual hunting and fishing licenses, and the Department does not receive any general state tax appropriations. House Bill 1419, recently signed by the governor, increases the fees for lifetime licenses beginning July 1. For example, a resident lifetime combination hunting and fishing license will go from $525 to $750. This will not generate any direct revenue (the principal of lifetime license sales cannot be spent, only the interest on those investments is eligible to be spent) but will contribute to future interest income from the lifetime license trust fund.

Individuals with questions about purchasing lifetime licenses or any other types of licenses should log onto the Departmentís Web site at wildlifedepartment.com or call Department headquarters at (405) 521-3851.